2017 Annie Hall and creative writing awards announced

May 2017

The selection committee announced the winners of the 2017 prizes for the Annie Hall Writing Award presented by Department of Film and Media Studies. Additionally, two undergraduates won screenwriting awards through the Creative Writing Program.

The Annie Hall Writing Award selection committee is pleased to announce the winners of 2017 prizes:


1st Place

  • Li Liu, “The Auteur Kingdom of Park Chan-Wook.”

  • Namrata Verghese, “Spider Woman Revamped: The Progressive Sensuality of Catherine Tramell."

2nd Place

  • Lily Bowman, “Timbuktu and Radical Islamist Recruitment.”

  • Sara Frank, “More Than Sexy and Seductive: Tracing the Development of the Femme Fatale in The Last Seduction."


1st Place - tie

  • Sharona Bollinger, “’The Best Shot Was the Best Man!': Contexts and Images of Violence in The Lone Ranger."

  • Sara Grasberg, “Paternal Longing, Maternal Punishment: Patriarchy as Paradox in The Exorcist."

2nd Place

  • Tianyi Yao, “Alienated Act: Holy Motors as an Essential Text on Alienation."

Congratulations to the winners and thanks to everyone who submitted their work for consideration.  We read through many excellent papers that reflect the high quality of the undergraduate and graduate work being done in the Department of Film and Media Studies. This made the decision very difficult for us but the process only confirmed our knowledge that we have some fantastic students. We look forward to seeing your submissions for next year’s awards!

Screenwriting Awards

Kudos to Matt Berns, winner of the Agnes Nixon and Kiki McCabe Prize in Screenwriting in the Creative Writing Program for his screenplay “Murmuration,” and Ethan Bunzel for Honorable Mention for his screenplay “Tissues and Cider.”